Me Before You by Jojo Moyes *Review*

me before youLou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Having never read Jojo Moyes writing before, after finishing this book, I had to ask “Why?”  What has kept this author off my radar?  Primarily, I believe it’s because the description of her novels always sounded like just a sappy, romantic love story.  I can assure you, Me Before You is not just a sappy love story, and if the rest of her books have depth like this one does then I will assuredly add them to my book shelf.

Me Before You not only broke my heart, but opened my mind as well.  What do you do when you all choices are taken from you?  Do you adjust…can you adjust?  And what problem does falling in love add to the equation?  I urge you to read this book and tell me that there is only black or white, yes or no answers.  A beautiful story of love and life, Me Before You deserves to be treated as more than a romance book.

3 responses to “Me Before You by Jojo Moyes *Review*

  1. Great thoughts on this Angie. I am still thinking about this book. I need to read something else by Moyes to see if this is her standard of writing if it is – we are in for a real treat!

  2. Pingback: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – Bookies Review | Book Journey

  3. I absolutely loved this book! It kept me up at night and made me cry. And when I also read The Girl You Left Behind I knew that I was a fan for life.

Leave a Reply

