Looking for Me by Beth Hoffman *Review*

I have to admit, I have never read anything by Beth Hoffman before.  I had heard of her, yes. But even though I had heard good things about her writing I had never felt the need to pick up one of her books.  Boy has my mind been changed!

look

Teddi Overman found her life’s passion for furniture in a broken-down chair left on the side of the road in rural Kentucky. She learns to turn other people’s castoffs into beautifully restored antiques, and eventually finds a way to open her own shop in Charleston. There, Teddi builds a life for herself as unexpected and quirky as the customers who visit her shop.  Though Teddi is surrounded by remarkable friends and finds love in the most surprising way, nothing can alleviate the haunting uncertainty she’s felt in the years since her brother Josh’s mysterious disappearance. When signs emerge that Josh might still be alive, Teddi is drawn home to Kentucky.  It’s a journey that could help her come to terms with her shattered family—and to find herself at last.  But first she must decide what to let go of and what to keep.

Looking for Me is a heartwarming novel full of southern charm.  Teddi is a strong independent woman with a heart of gold.  Even though she has been primarily alone since leaving home at the age of eighteen she has been blessed with a “family” of wonderful friends who love her and would do anything for her.

The cast of characters is one that instantly infected my heart and worked its way into each one of the chambers.  I totally fell in love with each and every one of them!  From old Kentucky friend Stella, to new Charleston friend Olivia, from crotchety but kind Albert to quirky Miz Poteet, I wanted my time with them to never end.

This novel has many elements to keep your interest (humor, mystery, drama) and I highly recommend you pick it up and give it a read!  4.5 stars

 

 

2 responses to “Looking for Me by Beth Hoffman *Review*

  1. I just got this on audio and can’t wait to listen to it. I also have not read anything by Hoffman before but I know I’m in for a treat.

  2. I’ve been on tour and somehow missed this! Thank you so much for your lovely review of my novel. I’m delighted that you enjoyed Teddi’s story!

Leave a Reply

