It’s Monday! What Are You Reading January 7th

It's Monday!No ambitious plans for me this week.  Nope…just sliding in slowly…hoping to get out of my reading slump.  I have been so busy as of late to spend very much time reading and it’s hard to really get into a book when you’re only reading 15 minutes here and 10 minutes there.  My goal last year was to read 100 books, and for some of you that is easy to do.  With my schedule…not so much!  I think I had the worst year on record and I fell far short of my goal.  So this year, I’m setting the same goal and will work a little harder to attain it.  Some things are changing in my life soon that will make this easier to do so I’m optimistic I will hit my goal this year.

With that being said, here’s what’s on my plate this week:

Finish my book club book In the Belly of Jonah by Sandra Brannan (what am I doing blogging when I should be reading?  This baby is due for review Tuesday and I’m only 48 pages in!)

In the Belly of Jonah is a fast-paced mystery with a likable protagonist and an intricately woven narrative brimming with bizarre yet believable twists. The first in a series, the book expertly lays the groundwork for Liv Bergen, amateur sleuth, and her love interest, FBI Agent Streeter Pierce.

Liv becomes involved in the investigation of the murder of Jill Brannigan, a summer intern at the limestone mine Liv manages near Fort Collins, Colorado (a breathtaking setting that unwittingly becomes an accessory to crime). In doing so, she inadvertently puts her friends, her family, and herself at risk of being swallowed in the belly of a madman bloated with perverse appetites for women, surrealistic art, and renown.

Perhaps a bit too daring (and at times irreverent) for her own good, ”Boots,” as Liv’s eight siblings call her, soon realizes she has a knack for outsmarting and tracking down the Venus de Milo murderer–and she enjoys it! As the gripping plot of In the Belly of Jonah unfolds, Liv Bergen takes her place alongside the best female crime-solvers as a woman with smarts, self-confidence, and intuitive savvy.

Image

ImageFinish Looking for Alaska by John Green.  I started this right after Christmas on the recommendation of my seventeen-year-old son Zach who read this for school.  He loved it and even asked for it for Christmas- the first book he has ever requested for  gift!

A deeply affecting coming-of-age story, Looking for Alaska traces the journey of Miles Halter, a misfit Florida teenager who leaves the safety of home for a boarding school in Alabama and a chance to explore the “Great Perhaps.” Debut novelist and NPR commentator Green perfectly captures the intensity of feeling and despair that defines adolescence in this hip, shocking, and emotionally charged work of fiction.

Miles has a quirky interest in famous people’s last words, especially François Rabelais’s final statement, “I go to seek a Great Perhaps.” Determined not to wait for death to begin a similar quest, Miles convinces his parents to let him leave home. Once settled at Culver Creek Preparatory School, he befriends a couple of equally gifted outcasts: his roommate Chip — commonly known as the Colonel — who has a predilection for memorizing long, alphabetical lists for fun; and the beautiful and unpredictable Alaska, whom Miles comes to adore.

The kids grow closer as they make their way through a school year filled with contraband, tests, pranks, breakups, and revelations about family and life. But as the story hurtles toward its shattering climax, chapter headings like “forty-six days before” and “the last day” portend a tragic event — one that will change Miles forever and lead him to new conclusions about the value of his cherished “Great Perhaps.”

Keep plugging away at Love & Respect by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs.  This one I am Imageabsorbing slowly to make sure the message really gets in my head.  This one came highly recommended by a young priest in our diocese.

Discover the single greatest secret to a successful marriage!  Psychological studies affirm it, and the Bible has been saying it for ages. Cracking the communication code between husband and wife involves understanding one thing: that unconditional respect is as powerful for him as unconditionallove is for her. It’s the secret to marriage that every couple seeks, and yet few couples ever find. Today, you and your mate can start fresh with the ground-breaking guidance that Dr. Emerson Eggerichs provides in this audio book. His revolutionary message, featured on Focus on the Family,is for anyone: those in marital crisis… wanting to stay happily married… who feel lonely. It’s for engaged couples… victims of affairs… pastors and counselors seeking material that can save a marriage.

If you would like to link up at Book Journey and share your reading plans for the week, please do!  Sheila would love to have ya!

12 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading January 7th

  1. I have Looking for Alaska around here somewhere but haven’t read it yet. I keep hearing John Green is amazing though. Enjoy your week!

  2. Reading slumps can be hard but it just means there are other things on your mind. Hope you have fun accomplishing your new 2013 goals.

  3. My new reading resolution for 2013 is to not feel like I need to read A TON of books. Instead, I want to savor the ones that I do read. I hope you find time to enjoy your selections this week!
    Happy Reading,
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

  4. So nice that you are reading a book recommended by your son!

    • To encourage him to read, I will always read books he reads, even if they’re terrible. Some he has had to read for his Novel class have been horrendous and I would like to contact the teacher and just ask her WHY?? she chose the book she did! It helps him understand the book better sometimes if he has someone to discuss it with. 🙂

  5. You sound like me …. time to read is hard to find. I am hoping today and tomorrow I can fix that. 😀 I hope you enjoyed Looking For Alaska, not my fav by John Green but a good one for sure!

  6. These all sound really interesting. Will be back to read your reviews on them

    Have a great week!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

  7. I read The Fault in Our Stars this year. It was my first novel by John Green, but Looking for Alaska sounds good too!
    I’ve heard a lot of positives and negatives about Love and Respect. I will have to check back and see what you thought. Have a great week!

  8. Hi Angie! Sorry to leave an unrelated comment, but Josh Hanagarne forwarded along your request for a review copy of The World’s Strongest Librarian. If you’re still interested, shoot me an e-mail at farin.schlussel@us.penguingroup.com and I will send you a copy!

Leave a Reply

