The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh *Review*

Victoria only knows how to relate to people one way…through flowers.  Unable to vocalize her hurt and anger, she turns to the language she learned from the one person she has ever loved, Elizabeth.  Elizabeth taught her the language of flowers.  She taught her that thistle means misanthropy and dahlia means dignity.  Victoria uses this language throughout her life with various people she encounters whether they understand the language or not.  That’s actually the way she prefers it.  She keeps to herself, never letting anybody get too close to her.  Those that try she drives away.  She really can’t take any more hurt and disappointment.

     Unapproachable, no one is able to break through her shell until one day, someone who has been studying her from a distance hands her mistletoe- “I surmount all obstacles.”  Can this young man tear through the wall Victoria has carefully constructed around her heart?

The Language of Flowers  is a beautiful story of love and loss, hurt and disappointment, realization and hope.  I learned so much about this romantic Victorian language that young lovers used to describe their feelings for each other.  Words can’t always describe what you truly feel, but a fragrant flower…sniff! 

So what would you give to a friend hoping to have a baby?  Dittany.  To someone who has lost a loved one?  Cypress or Aloe.  To someone who has helped you out in a time of need?  Bellflowers.  I laughed when I went through the drive through of my bank the other day and realized they had planted cabbage which means profit!  I also now understand why so many bridal bouquets include red roses (love) and baby’s breath (everlasting love.)

Going through the Dictionary of Flowers I wondered which one I would give my husband?  My Choice?  Cactus.  I’ll leave you to look that one up!  🙂

4.5/5 stars

4 responses to “The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh *Review*

  1. Initially, I would have thought the cactus flower had something to do with prickliness but a quick research (your review stirred my curiosity!) revealed the cactus flower to signify endurance, my heart burns with love and maternal love. What a compliment to your hubby! And now I really want to read this book.

  2. Fantastic! This one is on the shelf and I love your comments about what the different flowers mean!

  3. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    I loved this book, glad you did too!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  4. Hey busy lady – I miss your reviews! 🙂 I had to pop over and see if I lost my subscription to your posts.

Leave a Reply

