It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Not much happened in my world last week.  Oh, I was busy with the usual:

Monday-Ad Altare Dei class then Boy Scouts

Tuesday- RCIA class

Wednesday- Christmas cookie and candy making with my cousin (we made: Mounds Balls, Peanut Butter Balls, Butterfinger Bites, Dipped Pretzels, Ritz Dipped, Gourmet Toffee Pretzels, Peanut Butter Fudge, Cathedral Window candy, Wreath Cookies, Spritz, Snowman cookies and Peanut Blossoms and Potato Stick Haystacks)

Thursday- My Revelations Bible Study Class

Friday- Finally! Relaxation after dropping my son off at his confirmation retreat

Saturday- Did 3 loads of laundry, 3 loads of dishes, bought 3 Christmas presents online, and made 4 more kinds of Christmas cookies (Berry Shortbread Dreams, Cherry Dipped Cookies, Pumpkin Cookies and Molasses Creams) all by 9am. Then took a nap (!) before assembling supper, picking up my son from his retreat and visiting with company who stopped by my house.

Sunday- Church, then more sweet treats. Made Snickers Bars, Waffle Cookies, Toffee, Lemon Snowballs, Peppermint Chocolate Chip Meringues and Russian Tea Cakes.  Believe it or not, I am not done yet.  There are still a few more I need to make, but those will have to wait until next weekend. 🙂

Yes, all this while working two jobs!  Someday, retirement will come… Although I heard the other day that 80 is the new 65.  It seems people are starting to retire when they are 80 now.  That scares me a little!

Last week I managed to fit in two reviews:

You Are My Only by Beth Klephart and Big Scary Monster by Thomas Docherty.

Coming up later for review this week is Still Missing (a 5 star review!) and Redemption, so stop on back for those.

This week I will be reading The Ledge: An Adventure Story of Friendship and Survival on Mount Ranier  by Jim Davidson and Kevin Vaughan.

In June 1992, best friends Jim Davidson and Mike Price stood triumphantly atop Washington’s Mount Rainier, celebrating what they hoped would be the first of many milestones in their lives as passionate young mountaineers. Instead, their conquest gave way to catastrophe when a cave-in plunged them deep inside a glacial crevasse—the pitch-black, ice-walled hell that every climber’s nightmares are made of.

An avid adventurer from an early age, Davidson was already a seasoned climber at the time of the Rainier ascent, fully aware of the risks and hopelessly in love with the challenge. But in the blur of a harrowing free fall, he suddenly found himself challenged by nature’s grandeur at its most unforgiving. Trapped on a narrow, unstable frozen ledge, deep below daylight and high above a yawning chasm, he would desperately battle crumbling ice and snow that threatened to bury him alive, while struggling in vain to save his fatally injured companion. And finally, with little equipment, no partner, and rapidly dwindling hope, he would have to make a fateful choice—between the certainty of a slow, lonely death or the seeming impossibility of climbing for his life.

Then I will get to The Family Fang by Kevin Wilson.

Mr. and Mrs. Fang called it art.

Their children called it mischief.

Performance artists Caleb and Camille Fang dedicated themselves to making great art. But when an artist’s work lies in subverting normality, it can be difficult to raise well-adjusted children. Just ask Buster and Annie Fang. For as long as they can remember, they starred (unwillingly) in their parents’ madcap pieces. But now that they are grown up, the chaos of their childhood has made it difficult to cope with life outside the fishbowl of their parents’ strange world.

When the lives they’ve built come crashing down, brother and sister have nowhere to go but home, where they discover that Caleb and Camille are planning one last performance–their magnum opus–whether the kids agree to participate or not. Soon, ambition breeds conflict, bringing the Fangs to face the difficult decision about what’s ultimately more important: their family or their art.

And finally I will try to round out the week by finishing an audio that I started last week.  I thought maybe I could fit in an audio while making all those Christmas cookies, but I was only 3 CDs out of 14 in when I realized I hadn’t added quite enough flour to one recipe and almost forgot the vanilla in another so I turned it off before all my hard work was ruined!  So finishing up Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand will also be a priority for me.

On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood.  Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared.  It was that of a young lieutenant, the plane’s bombardier, who was struggling to a life raft and pulling himself aboard.  So began one of the most extraordinary odysseys of the Second World War.

The lieutenant’s name was Louis Zamperini.  In boyhood, he’d been a cunning and incorrigible delinquent, breaking into houses, brawling, and fleeing his home to ride the rails.  As a teenager, he had channeled his defiance into running, discovering a prodigious talent that had carried him to the Berlin Olympics and within sight of the four-minute mile.  But when war had come, the athlete had become an airman, embarking on a journey that led to his doomed flight, a tiny raft, and a drift into the unknown.

Ahead of Zamperini lay thousands of miles of open ocean, leaping sharks, a foundering raft, thirst and starvation, enemy aircraft, and, beyond, a trial even greater.  Driven to the limits of endurance, Zamperini would answer desperation with ingenuity; suffering with hope, resolve, and humor; brutality with rebellion.  His fate, whether triumph or tragedy, would be suspended on the fraying wire of his will.

An ambitious week ahead of me but I think I’m up for it!  How about you?  What Are You Reading?  🙂

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila of Book Journey.

9 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. All those cookies and candies sound heavenly! It’s a good thing I don’t have access to them; I would be in a sugar coma for sure!

    I haven’t read Unbroken yet, but I did love Seabiscuit. Enjoy your week!

  2. First of all you have exhausted me just reading this post…LOL. I have baked … nothing. My tree is not even up 🙂

    Secondly – The Ledge sounds fantastic! Have a great week.

  3. I wish I could do some Christmas baking in a group. I miss going to mass and nobody not even God comes to visit me anymore 😦

  4. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    A busy week – bet those cookies tasted good though! I hope you enjoy your books this week!

  5. Wow! AND you work two jobs?! Amazing.

    I adored Unforgiven. Could not put it down and pushed it on everyone I know.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  6. you definitely had a busy week hope you have a good week reading

  7. You’ve been busy. Finals week has kept me busy. Please come see what I’m reading.

  8. Both The Ledge and Unbroken sound like books I would read. Yes, sounds like a very ambitious week ahead of you!

  9. A very ambitious week! Unbroken looks really interesting.

Leave a Reply

