You Are My Only by Beth Kephart *Review*

Emmy Rane was married at nineteen and a mother by twenty. Trapped in a life with an abusive husband, Baby was her only joy. Until one day in September, when Emmy walked the sixty-three steps from the backyard to the upstairs closet, and returned to find Baby missing. All that was left behind was a yellow sock, which Emmy clings to as she’s institutionalized for what she calls grief and others call mental instability.

In another town, fourteen years later, Sophie is a teenage girl living a reclusive life with her overbearing mother. They move from place to place with almost no notice, always outrunning the No Good. One afternoon, Sophie ventures outside and meets Joey and his two aunts. Their unconventional family opens up Sophie’s eyes, giving her the courage to look into her past. And what she discovers changes her world forever. . .

Written in alternating chapters between Emmy and then Sophie, each one’s story is released a little at a time.  First we see into Emmy’s life of imprisonment within the walls of the institution she lives.  We see her inability to leave and search for Baby and the helplessness she feels as time continues to tick.

Next, we get a peek into Sophie’s own imprisonment within the walls of her own home, hiding from the No Good who could come at anytime and ruin the life she’s starting to build.  Sophie is not allowed to leave the house, her mother homeschools her and brings meals home for her daily in styrofoam takeout containers.

Sophie falls in love with the boy next door and their family.  It’s the only normal she knows and she longs to be a part of it.  Sophie’s story appealed to me the most.  I longed for Sophie to know the happiness she has been missing out on most of her life.

Written in a prose-like style Ms. Kephart’s writing is at times beautiful and appropriate for the book, but it is not a style that appeals to me.  I found myself rereading paragraphs to try to get the essence of what she was saying.  I have read other reviews from people who have loved this book, and while I didn’t hate it, it just wasn’t the book for me.   2/5 stars

3 responses to “You Are My Only by Beth Kephart *Review*

  1. I am surprised, I have not read it yet but it sounds like it would be good.Is this a library book?

  2. yes, it is a library book Sheila. I know others have really liked it, but with me it just didn’t settle in my heart like I like a book to do. It always felt distant to me. Does that make any sense?

  3. Some books just don’t touch us like they do to others, and that’s okay. Good thing it was a library book and not one you bought since it was not a favorite.

Leave a Reply

