It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Last week was another fun, busy insane week in the Simmonds household!

Monday my son and I went to a model railroad club museum so he could earn his Railroading Merit Badge.

Tuesday my youngest son started his first job.

Wednesday- Babysat my granddaughter and we took a trip to the library.

Thursday- Bible Study

Friday- An overnighter at Miller castle to set up the Haunted Maze

Saturday- the Haunting took place

Sunday- I tried my second Freezer Cooking Day and went to another Eagle Scout ceremony in the afternoon.

All of this while working two jobs and running my son back and forth to work!  I love staying busy, but one of these days I’m gonna drop!  🙂

I’m sure it’s not necessary to tell you, I didn’t get much done in the way of reading last week.  I haven’t finished The Night Circus or started Cleopatra: A Life for my book club, but I WILL get them done this week.  On top of that I will be starting Redemption by Stacey Lannert and Kristen Kemp.

On July 5th, 1990, Stacey Lannert shot and killer her father who had been abusing her sexually since she was 7.  Missouri state law, a disbelieving prosecutor, and Stacey’s own fragile psyche conspired against her: she was found guilty of first degree murder and sentenced to life in prison without parole.

Redemption is Stacey’s candid memoir of what happened after she found herself in prison for life.  It is an extraordinary account of Stacey’s will to live a positive-even triumphant life, and ultimately, the healing power of forgiveness.

After spending as many years in prison as she had out of it, on January 10th, 2009, outgoing Missouri Governor, Matt Blunt, commuted Stacey’s life sentence.  Six days later she walked out of the prison gates a free woman.  Redemption is the story of how Stacey became a free woman while still inside those gates.

Hmmm…maybe I’ve bitten off more than I can chew!  We’ll see how well I do next week!  Have a great week!

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

10 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. WOW – Redemption sounds amazing!!! I gave my copy of Cleopatra to Amy P…. I thought I would have time to get to it before I left for Honduras but due to events last week… I am just too behind and do not want the added pressure… I will read it when I get back 🙂

  2. I love any books with Cleopatra, hope you review it for next week. 🙂

    Come see my Monday! Have a great week!

  3. Enjoy your upcoming reads. I had a very slow week of reading. Please come see what I did finish.

  4. Wow, Redemption sounds like a pretty heavy one. Hope you enjoy it!

  5. That seems like quite a book to tackle. Have a good week.

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    What a busy week – I hope you find time to relax with one of your books this week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  7. I’ve seen Redemption earlier, but wasn’t too sure about it. It does sound very fascinating, so I’ll look forward to your review!

  8. ain’t it the truth, ain’t it the truth… 😉

  9. Wow! You ARE a busy woman! AND you’re a book blogger, too, which is incredible (no one but us knows how much work really goes into this!)

    I hope you like The Night Circus; I liked it because it was creative and original and fantastical .. not quite the rave book I was hoping for, but a very good read. Redemption sounds good as well!

    Enjoy your reading week!

Leave a Reply

