It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Last week was a great reading week!  I love it when everything clicks right and I can stick to my reading goals.  Last week I read A Soldiers Wife by Margaret Leroy (LOVED it!) and You Are My Only by Beth Kephart (still wavering on this one) and started Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (barely into it, but my goal was to start it and I did).

Along with my reading goals, I also was busy with life.  Last week I went to a castle to plan a haunted dungeon for a Halloween event for Cub Scouts, spent an evening babysitting my future granddaughter, worked 2 jobs, taught a class on Halloween’s Christian roots, facilitated a Revelations Bible Study evening, had a Halloween party for my son’s Boy Scout Patrol, and helped move my Papa’s things and furniture out of his apartment since he is now living in a nursing home.

This week I have more fun events planned, but my reading will have to take a back burner.  I plan on finishing Night Circus and then getting right to work on November’s book club book Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff.

Her palace shimmered with onyx and gold but was richer still in political and sexual intrigue. Above all else, Cleopatra was a shrewd strategist and an ingenious negotiator. She was married twice, each time to a brother. She waged a brutal civil war against the first and poisoned the second; incest and assassination were family specialties. She had children by Julius Caesar and Mark Antony, two of the most prominent Romans of the day. With Antony she would attempt to forge a new empire, in an alliance that spelled both their ends. Famous long before she was notorious, Cleopatra has gone down in history for all the wrong reasons. Her supple personality and the drama of her circumstances have been lost. In a masterly return to the classical sources, Stacy Schiff boldly separates fact from fiction to rescue the magnetic queen whose death ushered in a new world order.

 

And that, fellow book lovers, is my week.  Let’s hear about yours!

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.

12 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow!!! Sounds like you had a really hectic week! I’d love to be able to visit that castle!!
    Hope you dad’s doing ok!
    Here’s Mine

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    Halloween in a castle would be so cool! I hope you have fun with it and enjoy your reading this week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  3. You had some fun and would love to hear more about the Christian history of Halloween!

    I need to start the book club book too… I am hoping to have a report before I leave on the 5th.

  4. Cleopatra has a pretty cover. I had a busy week of reading. My goodness. I’m shocked at how many I finished. Come see what I read.

  5. What a busy week you have had! Good luck with the week to come and enjoy! Great post and Cleopatra looks like an amazing read 😀

    • I’m looking forward to getting into the Cleopatra read. When I recommended it for book club I thought it was a historical fiction novel, but after I bought it and started it I found that was not the case. I love non-fiction but my book club doesn’t do a lot of them so I hope they don’t hate me too much for this one! 🙂

  6. Are you enjoying Night Circus? I borrowed it from the library and haven’t started it as yet.

    • I’m about 80 pages in and I’m really liking it. I heard it was kind of hard to get into at first but I didn’t find that to be the case.

  7. Holy Cow, you squeezed a lot into one week!!! Congrats!!

    Here’s mine: http://www.escapewithdollycas.com/

  8. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « By Book or By Crook

Leave a Reply

