It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

I read the most fantastic book last week!  The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield is one I’ll be gushing about for months!  My review is coming up later this week so make sure you stop back.

Last week I accomplished the following:

My Nook and I At… a visit to Munsinger Clemens Gardens

Everything We Ever Wanted by Sara Shepherd a review

and a review of The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

As for this week I have a few I have set my mind on getting accomplished. 

The first one I am going to tackle is from my own reading pile, The Soldier’s Wife by Margaret Leroy.

 A novel full of grand passion and intensity, The Soldier’s Wife asks “What would you do for your family?” “What should you do for a stranger?” and “What would you do for love?”

As World War II draws closer and closer to Guernsey, Vivienne de la Mare knows that there will be sacrifices to be made. Not just for herself, but for her two young daughters and for her mother-in-law, for whom she cares while her husband is away fighting. What she does not expect is that she will fall in love with one of the enigmatic German soldiers who take up residence in the house next door to her home. As their relationship intensifies, so do the pressures on Vivienne. Food and resources grow scant, and the restrictions placed upon the residents of the island grow with each passing week. Though Vivienne knows the perils of her love affair with Gunther, she believes that she can keep their relationship and her family safe. But when she becomes aware of the full brutality of the Occupation, she must decide if she is willing to risk her personal happiness for the life of a stranger.

Next I’m going to settle in with a warm fuzzy blanket and read You Are My Only by Beth Kephart.

Emmy Rane was married at nineteen and a mother by twenty. Trapped in a life with an abusive husband, Baby was her only joy. Until one day in September, when Emmy walked the sixty-three steps from the backyard to the upstairs closet, and returned to find Baby missing. All that was left behind was a yellow sock, which Emmy clings to as she’s institutionalized for what she calls grief and others call mental instability.

In another town, fourteen years later, Sophie is a teenage girl living a reclusive life with her overbearing mother. They move from place to place with almost no notice, always outrunning the No Good. One afternoon, Sophie ventures outside and meets Joey and his two aunts. Their unconventional family opens up Sophie’s eyes, giving her the courage to look into her past. And what she discovers changes her world forever. . .

And then…if I get all those accomplished I have one more I want to start even though it wasn’t initially on my list.  One day I came home and opened my mailbox and found a package that was obviously a book.  Even though it was a Monday kind of Friday I knew at that point it was going to get better.  Since when has a book in your mailbox not brightened your day?  My dear friend Sheila decided to brighten my day by sending me a book she knew I had been waiting for…The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  And while I’m sure this book needs no introduction I have included the synopsis just because.

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

Yes!  I have an exciting reading week up ahead of me!  How does yours look?

*It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila of Book Journey*

21 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. YAY For The Night Circus – cant wait to read what you think of it.

    I have The Soldiers Wife (yet to read) and Beth Kephart is amazing so this book of hers I hope to try as well.

    Have a great week Angie!

  2. I quite enjoyed The Soldiers Wife. Enjoy your week.

  3. You are my only sounds really sadly and kinda creepy, but good! I’ll see if I come by this. 🙂

    Here is my Monday! + 2 Awesome Giveaways! Have a great week!

  4. Wow, “You Are My Only” looks awesome. I have never heard of it. Definitely going to try to find that one!

    I’m currently reading “Night Circus” It’s pretty intimidating to begin with, but I’ve heard the second half is amazing. Looking forward to what you think about it!

  5. I want to read The Night Circus.

    My favorite read this week is Pirate King by Laurie R. King. This week I want to finish How to Party with a Killer Vampire by Penny Warner. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    The Night Circus should be good and You Are My Only sounds intriguing. I hope you enjoy them!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  7. I loved The Night Circus – and the other 2 books you’re going to start sound great – especially The Soldier’s Wife.

  8. The Night Circus is in my TBR stack! I really should get to reading it! Good luck!

  9. The Night Circus is on my desk, waiting to be read….Must get to it soon! Here’s my It’s Monday List

  10. Added the Homecoming of Samuel Lake to my wish list without even reading your review, just because of your excitement.

    I am rebooting my blog at a new address http://www.escapewithdollycas.com/ I hope you will stop by and let me know what you think.

    Happy Reading!
    Dollycas

  11. Hi –

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to leave a comment – it’s nice to “meet” you! Looks like we have some things in common – our love of reading and two sons. Too bad the rest of your family doesn’t enjoy reading as well. My husband and oldest son (17) are avid readers, but my 13-year old son only reads when he has to for school! He would much prefer to do something active…or, really, anything at all except reading. The ironic thing is that he is a very good reader – always scored at the very top on reading tests – he just doesn’t like to sit still long enough to enjoy reading.

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

    • Your 13-year old sounds joust like my 16 year old. There are just too many other fun things for him to do to even THINK about sitting with a book for a half hour!

  12. You Are My Only is on my wishlist! I read and reviewed The Soldier’s Wife .. it has a somewhat dreamy feel to it. I recently read The Night Circus and really liked it as well! Great books! Enjoy them all!

    • It does have a dreamy feel, and a somewhat peacefulness to it which is odd because it’s a book about the war. Maybe that will change…I still have about 70 pages to go.

Leave a Reply

