It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Another week gone in a flurry of activity!  How fun is life?!  First of all, this last week I celebrated my Birthday (Happy Birthday to me!) and then turned around and celebrated all over again with my cousin and best friend’s birthday the next day (Happy Birthday to us!).  The rest of the week was filled with Scouts, Ad Altari Dei Classes, Bible studies, bonfires, babysitting, the Minnesota Wild Home Opener (and yes, another reason to par-tay!) a Homecoming game,  and Scouting for Food…not necessarily all in that order.

This week I have a few books that I am going to try to get through.  The first is doing a quick scan of Pride & Prejudice for my book club tomorrow night.  I have read this book a couple of times in the past but I bet it’s been three years or better since the last time I’ve read it, so a quick review is in order.

Then, a fun one OMG Pancakes! by Jim Belosic.

Over 75 recipes for crazy pancake concoctions… great for any occasion from holidays to everyday Sundays!

When Jim Belosic started making pancakes in unusual designs, he was just trying to earn some cool cred with his daughter, Allie. Little did he know how happy he’d make her-and the millions of fans who eagerly await his latest creations on the Internet.

Pancake unicorns, beehives, and even bridges, Ferris wheels, and construction cranes have all risen to life through Jim’s artful use of squeeze bottles, tasty and nutritious coloring and flavor techniques, and fearless creativity. OMG Pancakes also includes holiday-themed creations like Ghost and Pumpkin for Halloween, Turkey for Thanksgiving, a Christmas Tree, and much more.

Now-with a little help from Jim-everyone can turn breakfast into art. Filled with four-color photos, and step-by- step instructions, OMG Pancakes! will be devoured by families and crafty foodies alike.

My youngest son LOVES pancakes.  I don’t always cook them as often as I should because I think they make a sticky mess.  But flipping through this book and looking at some of the pictures has inspired me to be a better mom!  After all, if Jim can make these stunning creations, some in 3-D, then certainly I can swirl in a little food coloring and add some fun to my son’s favorite breakfast!  Even sixteen-year-old boys would enjoy a little culinary creativity every once in a while!

Then I’m going to also try to start The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield.

Every first Sunday in June, members of the Moses clan gather for an annual reunion at “the old home place,” a sprawling hundred-acre farm in Arkansas. And every year, Samuel Lake, a vibrant and committed young preacher, brings his beloved wife, Willadee Moses, and their three children back for the festivities. The children embrace the reunion as a welcome escape from the prying eyes of their father’s congregation; for Willadee it’s a precious opportunity to spend time with her mother and father, Calla and John. But just as the reunion is getting under way, tragedy strikes, jolting the family to their core: John’s untimely death and, soon after, the loss of Samuel’s parish, which set the stage for a summer of crisis and profound change.

In the midst of it all, Samuel and Willadee’s outspoken eleven-year-old daughter, Swan, is a bright light. Her high spirits and fearlessness have alternately seduced and bedeviled three generations of the family. But it is Blade Ballenger, a traumatized eight-year-old neighbor, who soon captures Swan’s undivided attention. Full of righteous anger, and innocent of the peril facing her and those she loves, Swan makes it her mission to keep the boy safe from his terrifying father.

Well, that ought to keep me busy for the next week…week and a half…two weeks!  How about you?

It’s Monday! What Are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey

 

3 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow the Homecoming sounds so good! Enjoy and see you tomorrow evening – don’t forget your hat! 🙂

  2. I was wondering when I read your post if you and Sheila were in the same book club because I remember reading that she was also reading P&P for book club. Hope you enjoy it – it’s one of my favorite books!!!

    Stop by my It’s Monday post if you get a chance.

Leave a Reply

