Banned Book Review of And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson

Roy & Silo are two male penguins that live at the Central Park Zoo.  Day after day they watch the other penguin couples play together, swim together, wrap their necks around each other, and eventually build nests together for the eggs that each must keep warm until they hatch.

Roy & Silo build a nest too, but the egg-shaped rock they carefully nestle in the middle, never seems to hatch.

Noticing this, the zookeeper places an egg that needs care right in the middle of their nest and in time Tango is born, the only penguin at the zoo with two daddies.

This children’s book is a beautiful story of two penguins that are a little different from the others and would be a good book to use to help explain how two people of the same sex who love each other are a little different, yet in some ways still the same as others around them.

The subject matter did make me squirm a little.  I’m a little old-fashioned and I am not entirely comfortable with homosexuality even though I have some very good friends who live this lifestyle.  I do know that they are still God’s children and I have no right to judge so I just accept them and love them as they are. 

Should this book be banned?  No.  Would I read this book to my four-year-old granddaughter?  No.  But I do believe it has value and deserves its place on the library shelf.  3/5 stars

3 responses to “Banned Book Review of And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson

  1. Pingback: Morning Meanderings… « Book Journey

  2. Nice review of this book Angie… I thought I commented this morning before I went to work but I guess I did not… oops 😉

Leave a Reply

