It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

The last couple of weeks have been rough reading weeks.  I had my book club read The Postmistress, which I know some people really liked but I found it incredibly dull so I found other things to do instead of reading.  I finally forced myself to read 150 pages in 1 1/2 days so I could get it finished for book club and wound up 40 pages short the night of the book discussion.  I really wish I could put down a book I’m just not into, but I can’t!  I have to finish it…I have to know if it get’s better…I have to know how it ends!  Arrggghhh!

After that I was relieved to be able to start The Winters in Bloom by Lisa Tucker.  This one went so much faster!  Review will be up on this one mid-week.

 

This week will be one of those weeks (as I explained to my husband) that I’ll barely see him.  I wanted to slap the slow smile that creeped up on his face when I said that,  but I know he’ll really miss me.  Err…he’ll really miss my cooking.  One of these days he’ll appreciate me *as I wave my scepter around*     🙂

After my Monday through Friday day job my week looks like this:

Monday- Boy Scouts

Tuesday- Watch my future granddaughter while her mother goes to religious ed classes

Wednesday-My youngest son starts confirmation classes and they are holding a parent info meeting the first night

Thursday- I am the facilitator for a 26 week Bible Study on Revelation that starts this night

Friday- My son is going on a Boy Scout weekend campout and I have to drop him off at the meeting place, then my cousin and I are going in a different direction for a girls campout weekend of our own.  We’ve never done this together and I’m psyched!  (We’re going to try out the portable camping blender and make some Margaritas!)

Saturday- still camping

Sunday- pack up from our campout, pick up my son from his, go home and collapse in an exhausted, but hopefully happy heap!

Of course, in between all this I hope to get in a page or two.  While I’m not incredibly optimistic about getting a lot done I am shooting for this one:

 

Chip and Emily Linton wanted to escape a nightmare. Months before, Chip had ditched the jet he piloted into Lake Champlain after both its engines failed. His decision led to disaster: More than three dozen passengers died and Linton himself had lapsed into a PSTD response that verges on insanity. Now, he, his wife, and twin 10-year-old daughters have escaped, or so they think, to a decrepit Victorian mansion in New Hampshire’s sleepy White Mountains. Before long, however, the house and neighborhood around it become scenes of threatening paranormal visitations and the family is thrust into a realm where uncertainty is the only norm.

 

 

I love the way Chris Bohjalian writes so I’m looking forward to this psychological thriller!

That’s it for me.  Have a great week and keep those pages turning!

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey

9 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out

    Hi
    Stopping by via Its Monday! What are you Reading? Night Strangers sounds like a chilling read
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  2. I started The Postmistress but put it down. Luckily I can stop reading a book if I am not totally into it. I usually hold onto it and read more reviews to see if it motivates me to pick it up again. Still torn on The Postmistress.

  3. The Night Strangers sounds really good! (I am trying to think what other book is by this author…)

    You do have a crazy week going…. I just came off one and am still exhausted so I do feel for you. Have fun but try to take a little reading break here and there 🙂

  4. I read another book by Chris Bohjalian and really liked it. I’ll be interested to hear how this one is. Have a great week!

  5. I’m reading three picture books a night with my children. That’s making my list seem really long. I also got some longer books finished too. Please come see what I’ve read.

  6. The Night Strangers is on its way to me. Cool for me! Check out mine!

  7. I’m the same, I have to finish a book whether I like it or not. I think I can think of only two exceptions in my whole life.

    • Soem people can get 50 pages into a book and put it down. Uh uh…not me! I’d be interested to know what your two exceptions were. They must have been really bad! 🙂

Leave a Reply

