It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  Last week I accomplished my It’s Monday! reading goals!  Remarkable, since I had an action packed week camping with my family along Minnesota’s north shore of big Lake Superior.  Where we were camping there was no cell phone service with T-Mobile, At & T, or Verizon…nothing, zip, nada!  Hence, the absence of posts last week.  I am never caught up enough to schedule posts in advance!

This meme by Sheila at Book Journey is a fun way to review what happened last week and a great tool to see what others will be reading this week- and come away with lots more added to your tall and tippy pile of books to be read ;)

This week my goal is to finish reading our September book club book The Postmistress by Sarah Blake.

In 1940, Iris James is the postmistress in coastal Franklin, Massachusetts. Iris knows more about the townspeople than she will ever say, and believes her job is to deliver secrets. Yet one day she does the unthinkable: slips a letter into her pocket, reads it, and doesn’t deliver it.

Meanwhile, Frankie Bard broadcasts from overseas with Edward R. Murrow. Her dispatches beg listeners to pay heed as the Nazis bomb London nightly. Most of the townspeople of Franklin think the war can’t touch them. But both Iris and Frankie know better…

The Postmistress is a tale of two worlds-one shattered by violence, the other willfully naïve-and of two women whose job is to deliver the news, yet who find themselves unable to do so. Through their eyes, and the eyes of everyday people caught in history’s tide, it examines how stories are told, and how the fact of war is borne even through everyday life.

And then to read The Winters in Bloom by Lisa Tucker.

Together for over a decade, Kyra and David Winter are happier than they ever thought they could be.  They have a comfortable home, stable careers, and a young son, Michael, who they love more than anything.  Yet because of their complicated histories, Kyra and David have always feared that this domestic bliss couldn’t last – that the life they created was destined to be disrupted.  And on one perfectly average summer day, it is: Michael disappears from his own backyard.

The only question is whose past has finally caught up with them: David feels sure that Michael was taken by his troubled ex-wife, while Kyra believes the kidnapper must be someone from her estranged family, someone she betrayed years ago.

As the Winters embark on a journey of time and memory to find Michael, they will be forced to admit these suspicions, revealing secrets about themselves they’ve always kept hidden.  But they will also have a chance to discover that it’s not too late to have the family they’ve dreamed of; that even if the world is full of risks, as long as they have hope, the future can bloom.

 

I’m kind of excited to get going on these now that I’ve looked at the synopses again!  How about you?  What have you got on your plate this week?  I’ll be visiting y’all to find out!

13 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. The Winters In Bloom looks great. I’m putting it on my TBR list.

  2. Both of these books sound like nice reads. Hope you enjoy them!

  3. reading rendezvous reviewz

    I like both the book title to both novels. Happy Reading to you!!
    http://sidnebkclubreviewz.blogspot.com

  4. I really enjoyed The Postmistress and The Winters in Bloom definitely looks like something that I would be interested in! Great choices this week!

  5. Winters In Bloom has my attention too. I just purchased 4 books yesterday so I will have to watch for this one at the library. 😀

  6. Ooh, The Winters in Bloom looks like a must-read. Thanks for sharing! I also enjoyed The Postmistress…hope you do, too.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  7. I keep meaning to read The Postmistress. Have a fab week! See what I’m reading here.
    Tasha @ A Trillian Books xxx

  8. I’m curious to read your thoughts on The Postmistress. It’s a very popular book but I have to admit that I struggled with the first half of it. Even with homework, I did manage to meet last week’s reading goals. Please come see what I finished and what I’m reading now.

  9. The Winters in Bloom lust really good, cover and summary.

    Happy Reading!!

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Psique @ Book Travels

  10. The Postmistress is a beautiful book. It was one of my favorite reads last year. Enjoy your week!

  11. “The Post Mistress” sounds good 🙂 Enjoy your week.

Leave a Reply

