My Book & I At…

My books and I go everywhere together.  You will find me in a huge state of panic if for some reason I am without one.  So I thought it would be fun to show you from time to time where I go with my books. 

My son recently spent a week at Cuyuna Scout Camp nestled in the woods by Crosslake, Minnesota.  This is his sixth year at summer camp and every year I dread seeing him go because I miss him so much when he’s gone, but the opportunities there are incredible.  Each year he signs up for 3 merit badge classes.  Some of the classes he’s taken over the years include Indian Lore, Wilderness Survival (where he gets to bring only twine to an overnight sleep out and has to build his own shelter), Weather, Canoeing, Environmental Science, Emergency Preparedness, Camping, Swimming, Archery, Shotgun, Rifle, Cooking (where he learned to make Mountain Dew cake in a dutch oven- now a personal favorite), and more.  He spends a week learning to lead other, younger scouts in his troop, playing games and having campfires in the evening, and enjoying the camaraderie of other scouts. 

The campsite they reserve every year, Apache,  is the farthest from the admit building and the beach (about a mile one way and they walk this several times a day) it is the largest and by far the most beautiful since it is situated right on Goodrich Lake.

 

While waiting for my son to finish packing his tent and patrolling the campsite for missed garbage I took my book down to the fire ring overlooking the lake and enjoyed the solitude of the camp.  I really love it there and I’m so glad my son is able to spend a week there every summer.

 

 

Stop by tomorrow for my review of Exposure by Therese Fowler.

2 responses to “My Book & I At…

  1. Great story Angie – the spot looks wonderful! The book… also looks good! 😉

    • It’s a great spot. They have a terraced fishing area with a low hanging tree and every year I have to take pictures of how many bobbers the tree has snagged. There are usually about 6 new bobbers hanging from the tree each year!

Leave a Reply

