It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Whew!  I finally stuck to my book reading schedule and it feels good…success!  Next week, however may be an entirely different matter as I will be very busy with a book club 10th anniversary celebration, two very long training meetings for work that I will be facilitating (and have yet to write!) and updating the paperwork and blogs from Boy Scout summer camp as part of my duties as the new Boy Scout Unit Commissioner of my son’s troop.  But for now, let’s focus on what I did get accomplished.

This meme by Sheila at Book Journey is a fun way to review what happened last week and a great tool to see what others will be reading this week- and come away with lots more added to your tall and tippy pile of books to be read ;)

Last week I finished the two books I had committed to reading- The Winter of our Disconnect by Susan Maushart and Exposure by Therese Fowler.  Those two reviews will be coming later this week.

I did post my Sunday Confessional about my son heading to summer camp as well as a look into where my book went with me last week in My Book and I At… and a review of said book Faith by Jennifer Haigh, a timely book about the clergy sex abuse scandal.

This week my aim is to read two more books.  I think two more books seems to be a pretty good pace for me and most weeks has been do-able.  The two books I have picked for this week are:

Tony & Susan by Austin Wright

Fifteen years ago, Susan Morrow left her first husband Edward Sheffield, an unpublished writer. Now, she’s enduring middle class suburbia as a doctor’s wife, when out of the blue she receives a package containing the manuscript of her ex-husband’s first novel. He writes asking her to read the book; she was always his best critic, he says.

As Susan reads, she is drawn into the fictional life of Tony Hastings, a math professor driving his family to their summer house in Maine. And as we read with her, we too become lost in Sheffield’s thriller. As the Hastings’ ordinary, civilized lives are disastrously, violently sent off course, Susan is plunged back into the past, forced to confront the darkness that inhabits her, and driven to name the fear that gnaws at her future and will change her life.

and

A Paradise for Fools by Nicholas Kilmer

The young woman in the hair salon raises her shirt to show a friend a work in progress—a riot of stunning tattoos. From the barber’s chair, Fred Taylor knows that those images—weird insects, beasts, and naked human figures—could only come from something amazing: a hitherto unknown painting of rare and significant value. And the girls don’t have a clue.

 Fred knows such a painting needs to be found. His inquiries lead him from the salon to the illegal tattoo parlor of an unlicensed genius. Everyone who must have seen the painting denies that it exists, despite the vivid proof increasingly laid bare on the canvas of the hairdresser’s skin.

 Fred’s employer, the collector Clayton Reed, is out of the country. So Fred, left to his own devices, is free to follow the trail, despite the distractions presented by the intriguing librarian Molly Riley.

 Fred must proceed with caution. Then he encounters the first serious bump in the road: a suspiciously convenient hit-and-run that brings one potential informant to an abrupt dead end. A must-read for all Michael Connelly fans—read it to see why.

I can’t wait to get started!

 

14 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I hope you find the time in your busy week to read your two books because they both sound great. Enjoy!

  2. Those both sounds like great books! Happy reading.

  3. Both of these sound like interesting mysteries! Your review on Faith is good. I’m sure that was an emotional read. It sounds like you have a busy week ahead! I hope its a good one for you.

  4. A Paradise For Fools sounds interesting. I look forward to reading what you think of it.

  5. 2 books a week is about my pace too. Tony & Susan sounds intriguing.
    Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

  6. I hope you have a good couple of weeks! It sucks when a lot of things happen together, but at least they also end together. Your book sounds interesting.

  7. Good for you! The average American reads zero books a year. Yes. And that’s a year. Sad.

    Here’s my It’s Monday post for this week: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    And don’t forget to stop in and sign up to win in the Readerbuzz August Giveaway!

  8. Sometimes it’s hard to fit reading into our lives…I had a week like that. Hope your new week is fulfilling. Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  9. Tony and Susan sounds good, creepy but intriguing!

  10. Tony and Susan sounds like it has potential. I’ve been so busy having fun with my kids and doing homework, that I’ve hardly taken any time to read. Come see what I did finish and why I’ll be reading even less this week!

  11. These sound really good! Hope you enjoy them 🙂

  12. Thank you for the kind thoughts for my cousin.

    Tony & Susan sounds great! Good luck with your busy week!

  13. I am slowly making my rounds… a bit behind this week 🙂 I have to read Faith. I have it on the shelf and have heard good things about it.

Leave a Reply

