Kid Konnection: Gladys Goes Out to Lunch

Kid Konnection is a weekly meme hosted by Booking Mama.  Every Saturday she features a children’s book and encourages us to link up with her and do the same!  My 4 1/2 year old future granddaughter and I love reading books together and have made a trip to the library one of our weekly outings.

This week we picked up Gladys Goes Out to Lunch by Derek Anderson.

At the zoo Gladys eats bananas for breakfast, bananas for lunch, and even bananas for dinner.  But one day Gladys smells something even better than bananas.  Could it be pizza?  Ice Cream?  Or something altogether better?

Growing up watching the Grape Ape on Saturday morning cartoons, Gladys, the purple gorilla on the cover of this book immediately caught my eye.  I picked it up based on that more than the synopsis of the book (because I don’t like bananas!)  I’m glad I did because I loved Gladys.

Unfortunately, when Princess Grace and I read the book, Gladys turned into a boy.  Gracie insisted that Gladys was a daddy gorilla and not a mommy gorilla so I had to change all the pronouns from he to she and her to him when I read it!

I loved this book and Gracie did too.  The bright illustrations filled each page with color and we couldn’t wait to see what Gladys’ nose was leading her to!

This is definitely a book I am going to pick up for Gracie’s book shelf.  Two sticky thumbs up!

3 responses to “Kid Konnection: Gladys Goes Out to Lunch

  1. This sounds fun! I of course love that you two read together. :)

  2. That does look like Grape Ape! It sounds like a fun book!

  3. I agree. I immediately thought of Grape Ape when I saw the cover. Our family loves monkeys!

Leave a Reply

